Word to World

Wow, guess the old adage time flies when your having fun really is true. I’ve been off work for 8 days as my sister, nephew and brother in law were visiting, and I kinda sad that they’re leaving tomorrow.  I’ve laughed harder, more often this past week  than I have in a while. All routine disappeared and it was great. It was so much fun to hang out with someone who is so in the Now and is excited about everything. Kids have so much to teach us.

And I have a lot to learn. I really have been weak on what may be one of the most important “rules” to live by; using your word as law, aka being impeccable with your word.  It is so important, and I know it but I haven’t been following it. I thought I used to, but having someone in your life to call you on it, and all of a sudden you see how many times your word goes flying out the window. And unfortunately with that, so do you. It’s very likely that our word creates the world we live in, and without it we really lose our power. And I guess it isn’t just about saying one thing and then doing another, but it’s how we use our word against others and how we gossip when others aren’t around.  I thought I had that part under control, but this past year I’ve definitely lost touch with that and I often like a good verbal beat down on someone as much as the next person. I know it has to change, and I know I have to be honest with myself and honest with those around me. I’m thankful to have someone who knows me and who can call me on it, otherwise I’d go on thinking I’m doing just fine and everyone else has lost it.

And so to conclude with my last post from a week or so ago, the decision by our client to limit our flexibility at work changed in our favor and i’m glad for that. I haven’t seen the guy who I have made into a villain since, and haven’t even thought about it since I’ve been away, taking advantage of the thing I thought I had lost. Hopefully I can stop slandering him with others, and begin to see him in a new light, someone who is just doing their job and has very different priorities than me.  It may not be easy, but the things that matter often aren’t.

Speaking of which, getting up 4-6 hours earlier than I have been for the past week. So hopefully sleep comes easy and I’m really thinking tomorrow is going to be a great day, despite being back to work etc., etc., etc.

If I have my word and my integrity, all else shall be easy.

Happy Journeys

Leave a comment