Looking Ahead

I think its safe to say I’m no Gandhi or Buddha and I’m not saying I strive to be either but I do have a strong pull to know myself in all aspects, especially in the “spiritual” realm. I’ve  punched some time reading, studying, pondering, doing courses, seminars etc, and although they’ve  had an impact I find I’m not where I would like to be (which I realize is the ego speaking as there is nowhere else we can be other than here and now and even though it may not seem it, it is the perfect place for me; it can not be otherwise.) Even as I work on recognizing and maintaining awareness in the present I know there is more and I’m open to experiencing consciousness in the fullest, hence my upcoming trip and one of the reasons for this blog.

I may have discovered a key that accelerates the whole process of development and I’m going to give it a turn, maybe two.  It’s something I have been familiar with for several years and something which the native peoples of South America have been familiar with for centuries, the vine of souls; Ayahuasca.  It is actually a combination of two plants which has the effect of producing a large amount of DMT (dimethyltryptamine; aka The Spirit Molecule).  Although it has been researched quite extensively by western science, our model of reality has no real basis to explain the utterly profound and lasting changes produced from its consumption.  I don’t feel the need to explain or defend it’s effectiveness or validity as I have some very strong opinions about it and I respect anyone who is able to form their own opinion upon doing their own research. Having said that I have never been so excited to do anything else in my life, ever. Having spoke with the only two people I know personally who have been there and done it for themselves, December could not come fast enough. Which is in itself providing me with a valuable lesson as I try not to wish away the present, but instead try to appreciate this year with all it’s highs and lows.

I have had people say, but isn’t this cheating? Is this a true connected experience or just the product of a chemical reaction. Besides the fact that we are nothing more than a series of continuous chemical reactions, it may not be so much about how you get there, but what you do once you arrive.  What do you do once you gain a sense of inner peace, once you rid yourself of that negative self talk, the doubt and self-sabotaging habits? What do you do once there is no more judgment, resistance and anger?  To know yourself, your purpose and to have a true feel of the bigger picture is in my opinion very important. And whatever can be done to achieve this as quickly and safely as possible, so that you can be the best version of yourself for yourself, others and the world at large is a very worthy quest. As with all quests there are closed doors, but with the right keys they open effortlessly.

Happy Journeys

Leave a comment